Awards & Recognition

Krishna Das MD

Dr. Krishna Das Recognized as National Patient Safety Expert

  Krishna Das, MD, Chief Quality Officer for Cook County Health (CCH), was named to Becker’s Hospital Review list of “50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety.” This national list recognizes preeminent health care providers, administrators, researchers, professors and… [Read More]

Donna Hart-024R

CIO Donna Hart Earns Award for Improving Health Care with IT

Donna Hart, Chief Information Officer for the Cook County Health (CCH) recently received a Health Information Technology (HIT) Men & Women Award for enhancing patient care through health IT during the international Health Information Management Systems Society (HIMSS) conference held… [Read More]


Mark Loafman Named Chair of Family & Community Medicine

Mark Loafman, MD, MPH, was recently appointed Chair of the Family and Community Medicine Department at Cook County Health (CCH). An Oak Park resident for 22 years, Dr. Loafman will lead the department of 60 family physicians and other providers… [Read More]

Provident Exterior

Provident Awarded Accreditation from The Joint Commission

Provident Hospital, a member of the Cook County Health & Hospitals System (CCHHS), is pleased to announce that it has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® for Hospital Accreditation by demonstrating continuous compliance with its health care performance… [Read More]

Oak Park Village Hall - Dr. Bernard Fantus

CCH Blood Bank Founder Dr. Bernard Fantus Honored

When Dr. Bernard Fantus started the first-ever blood bank nearly 80 years ago at Cook County Hospital, he was looking for a way to ensure that patients in dire need of a blood transfusion wouldn’t have to endure a frantic search to… [Read More]

Mark B. Mycyk, MD, FACMT, FACEP

Dr. Mark Mycyk named Editor in Chief of the Journal of Medical Toxicology

Dr. Mark Mycyk has been named Editor in Chief of the Journal of Medical Toxicology, the foremost journal for Medical Toxicologists in the United States. Board-certified in Emergency Medicine and Toxicology, Dr. Mycyk is our Director of Toxicology Research, Department… [Read More]

Moses S. Lee, MD, FACEP, FAAEM

Dr. Moses Lee receives EMSC Award from Illinois Department of Public Health

Dr. Moses Lee has received the Emergency Medical Service for Children (EMSC) Award for Support and Commitment of EMSC from the Illinois Department of Public Health. He has been a member of EMSC’s Pediatric Emergency Preparedness Workgroup as a subject… [Read More]


Stroger Awarded Certification for Primary Stroke Centers

The Joint Commission Recognizes Stroke Program The Joint Commission, in conjunction with The American Heart Association/American Stroke Association has awarded John H. Stroger Jr. Hospital of Cook County with Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers. Stroger Hospital demonstrated that its… [Read More]


CCH Announces 2014 Doctor of the Year

CHICAGO – The Cook County Health & Hospitals (CCH) announced today Doctor Tom Patrianakos, Division Chair of Ophthalmology was named Doctor of the Year, Cook County Health. “Dr. Patrianakos is a physician who is fully behind the mission of the… [Read More]

patient triage

Cook County Department of Public Health Awarded National Accreditation

Cook County Department of Public Health Awarded National Accreditation The Cook County Department of Public Health (CCDPH) was awarded national accreditation by the Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB). To receive national accreditation, CCDPH had to undergo a rigorous, multi-faceted, peer-reviewed… [Read More]