Cook County Health’s Department of Medicine provides leadership in patient care, education and research throughout the County’s expansive health service system.

As a principal academic affiliate of Rush University Medical Center, one of the top 10 academic medical centers in the country and Rush Medical College, the Department of Medicine is committed to providing excellent training in a wide array of residency and fellowship programs in a new state-of-the art hospital facility while serving the area’s multiethnic population with the best medical care available for more then 100 years.

Clinical teaching is one of the major strengths of the Internal Medicine program at the John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital. We have over 100 dedicated full-time faculty in the Department of Medicine in 13 subspecialties committed to the training of our residents. Our greatest asset is our patient population; and the wide variety of diseases and spectrum of illnesses that our residents encounter is unrivalled by most institutions.

For more information regarding the Department of Medicine residency program, please click here.

We offer the following Educational Programs:

  • Residency Training
  • Fellowships
  • Student Rotations

Department of Medicine

Department Divisions