Contact Us

Richard Keen, MD, System Chairman

1900 W. Polk St., 15th Floor
Chicago, IL 60612

Welcome to the Department of Surgery at the Cook County Health and Hospitals System. The goals of our department are to offer the community of patients, medical students, residents and faculty educational opportunities, compassionate clinical care, and ongoing research.

The staff at Cook County works to improve the lives of people by providing optimal surgical care within a top learning environment.

The department of surgery consists of 16 clinical divisions, and  is made up of 120 surgeons and a team of residents who teach, learn, and work at each health system affiliate.

The Department of Surgery is an established and well-respected surgical residency program for training surgical residents from medical schools in the Chicagoland area. In addition,  there are approved fellowships in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit (SICU) and Oral Surgery.

The strength and success of the department is a direct result of the hard work, dedication, and loyalty of our medical staff, nurses and residents.

Department Divisions