Contact Us

Dr. Yogesh Gandhi, Chairman
E. Daniels, Administrative Assistant

Phone: (312) 864-5120
Fax: (312) 864-9606

In 1963, Dr. Anthony Raimondi, a trainee of the University of Chicago under Joseph Evans and Sean Mullan who had a strong interest in head injury, built the first independent residency program at Cook County Hospital, and Dr. Raimondi became the first full-time Chairman of Neurosurgery. Dr. Raimondi, who was a pioneer in pediatric neurosurgery, hydrocephalus shunt development and pediatric neuroradiology departed to Northwestern Children’s Hospital in 1969, and was replaced by Dr Fernando Torres, a year behind Raimondi in his training at the University of Chicago, for about 1 year. In 1970, Dr Roy Selby a University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) trainee who founded neurosurgery in Malaysia, became Neurosurgery Chair, but the independent neurosurgical training program became disapproved, and he departed in late 1973. Also in 1973, the Division of Neurosurgery at Cook County Hospital became affiliated with UIC and would remain so for nearly 20 years.

In September 1974, Dr. Robert A. Moody, came over from the University of Chicago to become Chairman at Cook County and introduced a more aggressive approach to head injury advocating intracranial pressure (ICP) monitoring and large decompressive craniotomy. Under Dr Moody, animal research on ICP with sophisticated neurophysiological monitoring was initiated by 1976, and in 1978 the Neurosurgery Division opened its Neuro Intensive Care Unit (3 Unit East), the first Neuro ICU in the Chicago area. Dr. John B. Oldershaw, with extensive military experience gained in Viet Nam, was recruited to the Division in 1979 and became Chairman in 1981 following Dr Moody’s departure.

In 1987 Dr. James L. Stone, who completed his Cook County/UIC training under Drs. Moody and Oscar Sugar, was appointed Chair. Dr Stone worked with the trauma surgeons on research in the use of hypertonic saline in animal models of increased ICP, and the neurophysiological study of increased ICP in monkeys. Dr Stone’s group in conjunction with the Anesthesia Department also studied motor evoked potentials (MEPs) in the monkey and introduced the rationale for present day total intravenous anesthesia (TIVA) in the recording of evoked potentials. Having obtained FDA approval, some of the earliest MEP recordings in humans undergoing surgery were performed at Cook County Hospital in the late 1980s and early 1990s. Dr. Stone expanded the Neurosurgery Residency Program in 1992 as the affiliation with UIC was terminated and training affiliation began with residents from Loyola University (through 2004) and, in addition by 1996 Rush Medical College neurosurgery residents rotate to the Division up to the present time.

In 2004, Dr. George Cybulski, a Rush graduate and a Cook County Attending Neurosurgeon in the late 1980s, became Chairman of the Division after Dr Stone. Dr. Cybulski, had been active in neurosurgery at Northwestern and was instrumental in establishing the Neurosurgery Residency Program with Midwestern Osteopathic University in 2006. By 2011, neurosurgery residents from Northwestern University additionally began to rotate to the Division.

Dr. Yogesh Gandhi, a UIC neurosurgery trainee, became Program Director of the Neurosurgery Residency Program in 2009, and appointed Chairman in February 2016. Program affiliation with Northshore University was finalized in 2011. Dr. Diane Sierens was appointed Associate Program Director in 2013.